Nursing Now Ontario Awards

The Ontario Nurses' Association (ONA), the Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO), and the Registered Practical Nurses Association of Ontario (WeRPN) are joining together to honour the work of nurses. In a spirit of partnership, these three associations have committed to recognizing and promoting the profession and celebrating the great work that nurses are doing in our province.

The Nursing Now Ontario Awards leverages and supports the goals of the Nursing Now campaign, a global initiative led by the World Health Organization and the International Council of Nurses, aimed at raising the profile and status of nursing. The campaign calls on governments, health professionals and service users to value nurses and champion their leadership in providing the best quality of care. It's about supporting nurses to lead, to learn and to strengthen the profession, in both clinical practice and political leadership.

To align with those goals, and to champion nursing leadership, this new award will recognize the contribution of nurses who improve health outcomes. Awards will be issued to one winner in each of three categories: Registered Practical Nurse, Registered Nurse and Nurse Practitioner. In order to be eligible for an award, the review committee will confirm that the nominee is:

  • a member of the College of Nurses of Ontario in good standing.
  • a nurse working in one of the following sectors in Ontario: primary care, public health, hospital care, home care, rehab, complex care, long-term care or independent practice.

Nominees must demonstrate excellence in a minimum of two of the following areas:

  • exemplary nursing practice resulting in significant client/organizational/community impact.
  • respectful collaboration with members of the interprofessional team.
  • acts as a role model/mentor in supporting others to achieve excellence in one or more domain of nursing: clinical practice, education, administration, research and/or policy.
  • advances the nursing voice to strengthen the profession.

The awards will be presented on Tuesday, May 12, 2020, at RNAO's annual Health Professional Expo.

The deadline for entries is Friday, Feb 14, 2020.

For more information please see our media release.


Nominator information
Nominee information

Nominees must demonstrate excellence in a minimum of two of the following areas. Please note that if you select more than two areas to support your nomination, the total score will be aggregated accordingly, so that the total score will be out of 100 for all nominations submitted.

Please select a minimum of two categories below to support your nomination: