# onember onevote

# Members to vote on bylaw change that realign RNAO's chapter boundaries

t a meeting of RNAO's board of directors held Feb. 22, 2020, and following consultation with members at the Feb. 21, 2020 assembly meeting, a motion was passed to approve a proposed amendment to Bylaw 3.0. The board proposal would alter chapter and region boundaries so they follow boundaries of Ontario's provincial electoral ridings.

The proposed change is designed to better position how RNAO's membership is organized geographically across the province with the political activities of the association.

Ontario changed its riding boundaries ahead of the 2018 provincial election so its ridings were more closely aligned with federal ridings, which changed for the 2015 federal election.

The board believes the proposed change would continue to foster and strengthen relationships members and chapter executives, in particular, have created with MPPs and MPs and facilitate future political action at the municipal level where responsibility for so many issues related to determinants of health lies.

Currently, ridings in some chapters crossover into neighbouring chapters, which can lead to confusion and splits responsibility for organizing political action events among chapters.

Realigning chapters would also provide members with the opportunity to create stronger relationships with their community leaders and local media.

Under the proposed amendment, no new regions would be created; however, chapter boundary changes will have implications for region boundaries thereby triggering the need for the bylaw change. Four new chapters would be created: York East, York West, Mississauga and Brampton.

The proposed realignment would add four consultation representatives to RNAO's network of voting delegates. Sixteen chapters would see no change at all and 14 chapters would see their allotment of consultation representatives either increase or decrease by one. An added benefit of this change is that members would be able to log into their MyRNAO account and locate their chapter and riding using their postal code.

The proposed bylaw change does not affect RNAO's per cap funding formula. It remains unchanged. Some chapters will have increased funding because their membership numbers will increase. Those chapters which experience a decrease in members due to realignment will see a corresponding decrease in funding. Chapters can continue to apply for RNAO regional development funding for any programs or initiatives chapters wish to organize or undertake.

In order to give chapter and region executives ample time to adjust to new boundaries and to find and develop future chapter executives for the four new chapters, the board is proposing to delay the effective date of new chapter boundaries to the June, 1, 2022.

Members can look at a map of the proposed boundaries.

#### The following motion that requires approval by one member, one vote:

- To amend article 3 of RNAO's Bylaws to redefine regions in terms of the provincial electoral districts (ie. Ridings), effective on June 1, 2022.
- Voting on the proposed change to Bylaw 3.0 begins online at 12 noon (ET) on May 26, 2020 and ends at 12 noon (ET) on June 11, 2020. Results will be announced during RNAO's Annual General Meeting on June 12, 2020. Eligible members will receive voting instructions via email. For more information, please visit: <u>myrnao.ca/rnao\_election</u>

The proposed bylaw change does not affect chapter and region executive elections taking place in 2020. The board is recommending the following transition plan.

## **Chapter Election Transition**

- 1. Elections for 2020 remain unchanged. Members shall elect the social media ENO, policy and political action ENO, student liaison ENO and workplace liaison ENO, for a term of two years (2020-2022).
- During the 2021 election period, members shall elect the president/chair, assembly representative (Regions without Chapters only), communications ENO, finance ENO, and membership ENO for a term of one year (2021-2022).
- 3. At the first election following the adoption of these bylaws in 2022, all positions will be elected with staggered terms.

In the event a vacancy occurs as a result of a resignation from the executive, the chapter, region without chapters, and interest group, may appoint a member to fill the remaining portion of the term.

## **Proposed Amendments:**

- 3.0 REGIONS
  - 1. The Association shall be divided into 12 regions.
    - a. There shall be two categories of regions:
      - i. Region with chapters, and
      - ii. Region without chapters
    - b. A region shall apply to the Board for approval to change categories.
  - 2. The areas, as defined in terms of provincial electoral districts, of the regions shall be:
    - a. Region 1:

Essex, Windsor West, Windsor-Tecumseh, Sarnia-Lambton, Lambton-Kent-Middlesex, Chatham-Kent-Leamington

b. Region 2:

Huron-Bruce, Perth-Wellington, London North Centre, London West, London-Fanshawe, Elgin-Middlesex-London, Oxford

c. Region 3:

Brantford-Brant, Haldimand-Norfolk, Flamborough-Blanbrook, Hamilton Centre, Hamilton East-Stoney Creek, Hamilton Mountain, Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas, Niagara Centre, Niagara Falls, Niagara West, St. Catharines

d. Region 4:

Burlington, Milton, Oakville, Oakville North-Burlington, Dufferin-Caledon, Cambridge, Kitchener Centre, Kitchener South-Hespeler, Kitchener-Conestoga, Waterloo, Guelph, Wellington-Halton Hills, King-Vaughan, Thornhill, Vaughan-Woodbridge, Mississauga-Centre, Mississauga East-Cooksville, Mississauga-Erin Mills, Mississauga-Lakeshore, Mississauga-Malton, Mississauga-Streetsville, Brampton Centre, Brampton East, Brampton North, Brampton South, Brampton West

e. Region 5:

Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, Parry Sound-Muskoka, Simcoe North, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte, Simcoe-Grey, Barrie-Innisfil, York-Simcoe

f. Region 6:

Davenport, Etobicoke Centre, Etobicoke North, Etobicoke-Lakeshore, Parkdale-High Park, Spadina-Fort York, York Centre, York South-Weston, Eglinton-Lawrence, Humber River-Black Creek, Toronto-St.Paul's, University-Rosedale

g. Region 7:

Beaches-East York, Don Valley West, Scarborough Centre, Scarborough North, Scarborough Southwest, Scarborough-Agincourt, Scarborough-Guildwood, Scarborough-Rouge Park, Toronto Centre, Toronto-Danforth, Don Valley East, Don Valley North, Willowdale

h. Region 8:

Ajax, Durham, Oshawa, Pickering-Uxbridge, Whitby, Peterborough-Kawartha, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock, Northumberland-Peterborough South, Markham-Thornhill, Markham-Stoufville, Markham-Unionville, Richmond Hill, Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill, Newmarket-Aurora, Bay of Quinte, Hastings-Lennox and Addington

i. Region 9:

Kingston and the Islands, Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, Lanark-Frontenac-Kingston, Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry, Glengarry-Prescott-Russell, Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke

j. Region 10:

Carleton, Kanata-Carleton, Nepean, Orleans, Ottawa Centre, Ottawa South, Ottawa West-Nepean, Ottawa Vanier

- k. Region 11: Sault Ste. Marie, Algoma-Manitoulin, Timiskaming-Cochrane, Nipissing, Nickel Belt, Sudbury; and
- I. Region 12: Kenora-Rainy River, Thunder Bay-Atikokan, Thunder Bay-Superior North, Timmins, Mushkegowuk-James Bay, Kiiwetinoong
- 3. The references in this section are in all cases to the Ontario provincial electoral districts as defined by elections Ontario.
- 4. The Board shall determine the chapters that are included in each region, and may from time to time, in its discretion, revise the allocation of chapters among the regions.